Birkenhead – a pleasant surprise

design and dragons

Usually, when I come to Birkenhead, I’m passing through on my way to Liverpool. But a couple of weeks ago I got some kind of “sightseeing tour” of Birkenhead (there were engineering works on the trainline to Liverpool and we had to use a replacement bus service) and I thought, maybe I should give it a shot. So one sunny Sunday I grabbed my backpack and my camera and got off the train at Birkenhead for the first time.

I started at Hamilton Square as it is quite central.

Next stop was Birkenhead Park. The park was designed by Joseph Paxton and opened on 5 April 1847. It is generally acknowledged as the first publicly funded civic park in Britain. American landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted visited the park in 1850 and it is widely accepted that he incorporated many of the features he observed into his design for New…

View original post 91 more words