Dynamic architecture

I E Smaranda

I stumbled upon a couple of videos which reminded me of a project I did in my 3rd year, in Uni, and I’d like to share my thoughts on the subject they have in common.

The first video is about a guy called Anthony Howe, who makes kinetic sculptures that react to the external environment (in this case, the wind). In short, the sculptures are modeled and animated using computer software and then, he cuts each individual piece with a programmed laser cutter. He said “I was bored with everything being static in my visual world… I wanted to see stuff float”, and I couldn’t agree more; I feel the same way about architecture and buildings. The fact that I grew up in an ex-communist country and in a city which has too few ‘awes’ to offer in terms of architecture, made me yearn for something even more…

View original post 455 more words