Exploring Function

BA Blog

The first exercise in this, the next People and Place project, ‘Space and Function’, revolves around thinking of an interior space, public or domestic and photographing it. However, it is the step before the photography that is important. I needed to select this space and think about its function and purpose before going to photograph it. For this reason I chose somewhere I knew well and then decided to decipher what its function was. I chose a food hall in the basement of a shopping mall. The questions were;

Who uses it or will use it?” – This seemed to require a straight forward consideration. The general public would use it. Of course that answer would mean overlooking a significant amount of other people in this equation and so I needed to think harder about the answer and break it down. Other people who would use it were; cooks…

View original post 970 more words