How a Bluestone Came to be on St Kilda Road

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

On my last visit to the Bluestone for Deaf Children Australia I was allowed to borrow a book The History of the Victorian School for Deaf Children.  The book was written by J.H.Burchett, MBE and was first published in 1964.  I don’t think the book is still available, so I have to be very careful with the copy I have.

leannecole-scdca-2340

It is great to actually read some of the history rather than just getting bits and pieces from this person and that.   So for today’s post I thought I would share some of the information of how the DCA ended up where it is today.  The photos are going to be all the ones I have taken of the building so far, I think that will work with this.

The history starts before this, but I am more interested in the bluestone and I am going to look at…

View original post 539 more words